Top Online Gambling Firm
gets Domains Back
April
22 - Two years ago the
online gambling fraternity was shocked
when an American company, First Technology LLC, won a 'patent
infringement' lawsuit against
leading international online gambling firm, Bodog,
giving it the right to seize Bodog's domains
Obliged to
hand over its domain name, Bodog.com,
the gaming firm was forced to redirect its web traffic and
players to a new domain, Bodoglife.com. This week, however, the
online gambling giant
is set to get its old domain back after reaching an undisclosed
settlement
with First Technology.
First Technology initially sought $48 million from Bodog,
claiming that the
online gambling firm 'infringed on its American patent
entitled 'Method And System For Interactively Transmitting
Multimedia Information Aver A Network Which Requires A Reduced
Bandwidth While Operating In The US'.
At the time of the debacle, Bodog was run by founder
Calvin Ayre,
who set up the company's headquarters in the online
gambling-friendly jurisdiction of Costa Rica. In 2008, he
sold Bodog to the Morris Mohawk Gaming Group,
although he is still reportedly wanted by U.S. authorities for
contravening
U.S. anti-online gambling laws.
Said
Morris Mohawk Gaming Group CEO, Alwyn Morris,
'We are pleased to have worked constructively with First
Technology and its principals to
bring an end to this protracted dispute.
'This resolution will provide certainty and will also allow us
to continue to
enhance our technology
base for online gaming in order to provide our users with
unfettered access to the best technology.'
Said CEO of First Technology, Dr Scott Lewis, 'We are pleased to
have
finally resolved this dispute
and applaud Mr Morris for his proactive and constructive
approach.'
|
|
|